TAS Racing and BMW Tyco hit new records at North West 200

May 05th 2015 | by James Burfield
Alastair Seeley International North West 200

Following on from a near-perfect race week, at the International North West 200, Alastair Seeley took the Superbike victory and the fastest lap from his pole position qualifying slot, aboard the Tyco BMW Motorrad S1000RR – that just so happened to see him equal the all time record of Robert Dunlop on 15 wins.

Alastair Seeley continued BMW Motorrad’s winning streak at the International North West 200 by taking a fabulous Superbike victory for Tyco BMW on Saturday [May 16]. The win helped the Ulsterman go level of victories with the legendary Robert Dunlop – both men now sharing 15 wins apiece at the top of the all-time winners’ list.

The Tyco BMW rider is usually never short on words, but was well aware of his feat as he crossed the line in front of Ian Hutchinson and Bruce Anstey, and duly paid tribute to the late great Dunlop brothers, Joey and Robert.

“I’m a bit overwhelmed if I’m honest. To have equaled Robert’s record in such a short space of time… I’m stuck for words,” said Seeley. “I used to watch Joey and Robert race here as a boy, and to join Joey on thirteen wins on Thursday was an honour, but to join Robert now on fifteen is just amazing for me and the Tyco BMW team. Big credit to all the boys for a big effort this North West and of course BMW Motorrad for providing top class machinery.”

The double British champion also finished in second place after a thrilling duel in the Superstock class to fellow BMW rider Lee Johnston. Seeley led on numerous occasions throughout, and despite Johnston putting an embargo on him taking his 16 career win at the Triangle after an epic struggle, Seeley heaped praise on his local rival.

“I’m not a bit disappointed at all. It’s just good to be on the podium here at the North West in this type of company. Lee and I used each other to draft ourselves away from Dunlop on our BMW’s, which were certainly stronger than the Yamaha. Hutchy came strong at the end but it’s a 1-2 for BMW Motorrad and you can’t ask for better than that.”

BMW Tyco, Team Manager Phillip Neill reflects: 

“What a fantastic week we had at the International North West 200, for everyone involved with TAS Racing. This is an extremely important event for us and to take our first victory for Tyco BMW in our first year together is amazing and testament to the new BMW Motorrad S1000RR.

“Alastair’s dominant form was exceptional as he headed every session during the week and almost made it a full house of race victories. To end the event with Alastair joining Robert Dunlop as the most successful rider ever at the North West, and for TAS Racing to move onto a record breaking 24 victories; well it really is the icing on the cake.

“At least the race we didn’t quite manage to win was headed by another BMW with a Northern Ireland man onboard, so fair play to Lee Johnston and his team.

“Guy Martin had some solid results at the North West, which sets him up nicely for the forthcoming Isle of Man TT, and we are very pleased with William’s performance. He rode with an injury after a heavy fall on Thursday riding his Supersport machine, so full credit to him for the effort.

“Finally, well done to the organisers of the event. They had to deal with very difficult weather conditions and we hope those injured make speedy recoveries.

“A big thanks as always to all our sponsors and hard working crew for their support during this memorable week for TAS Racing and Tyco BMW.”

Race results 

Superbike Race – Winner: Alastair Seeley [Tyco BMW] 22mins 15.677sec; 2nd – Ian Hutchinson [PBM Kawasaki] 22mins 15.982sec; 3rd – Bruce Anstey [Padgett’s Honda] 22mins 16.220sec; 4th – Lee Johnston [ECR/Burdens BMW] 22mins 22.17.598sec; 5th – Michael Rutter [Penz13.com BMW] 22mins 19.200sec; 6th – John McGuinness [Honda Racing] 22mins 20.644sec

Fastest Lap – Alastair Seeley 121.967mph

Superstock Race – Winner: Lee Johnston [BMW] 22min 17.138sec; 2nd – Alastair Seeley [BMW] 22min 17.330sec; 3rd – Ian Hutchinson [Kawasaki] 22min 17.557sec; 4th – Michael Dunlop [Yamaha] 22min 18.299sec; 5th – William Dunlop [BMW] 22min 31.884sec; 6th – Martin Jessopp [BMW] 22min 32.157sec

Related posts


British Superbike Championship – Round 5 Knockhill, Scotland Josh Brookes took a pair of fourth-placed finishes away from a dry round five of the...


Wonderful Walker gives Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki debut BSB win The Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki team were back in action over the...


Dubya USA extends its congratulations to Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant on taking 2nd place in New Orleans. Grant is running Dubya’s Talon/D.I.D...